Hey there!

Mr. Robby here! Just continuing my blogging here on this bright new site. :D

UPDATE:
Frozen Robby!
(CLICK IT. :D)

It's the cat's pajamas.

Chatbox


Wednesday, March 18, 2009

The Summer Paradox

Seriously, why is it that when it's summer, you always have too much time? That's probably why I don't like summer so much.

That's something you'll never hear from someone who's still enduring classes until now. Hahaha, exactly what the Summer paradox is. When it's summer, you look for things to do with that time. When it's not, you look for time to do things with. Maybe some never experience this, but I'm sure it's the greater majority who'll be able to relate with me.

It's kicking in, obviously. The summer attitude is sinking in already, despite this being only my second week of vacation. I only realized now that two weeks have already passed though, and that makes me quite sad. What have I done in that time? Nothing really significant, just enjoying all this free time here and there.

Makes me realize how ungrateful people can be though. I'm not one for reflective blogs (only because I don't like making them. :P) so let's keep this part short. It shows how a lot are never happy with the ground they stand upon. School people want out, they want summer's free time. Summer people want school, so they'll be preoccupied daily. On a greater scale, you can really see this attitude in many people. All the complaining, whining and wishing for more. Is anybody ever truly happy? I guess not. But that's not a problem. It's one thing to desire more for your life, but it's another to just stand there and be sad about it. You long for more? Work for it. Make it happen. That's the way to do things.

++++++++++

And there you go! Serious part's over. Hahaha. Seriously, this summer's been fun so far though. The above-mentioned feeling has only hit me on occasions, I'm not that sad about the two weeks. Most of the time, I think it's two well spent weeks. Just bumming out and relaxing may be a bad thing, but it's better than stressing out, right? So yeah, summer's been mostly great. :D

Late happy birthday (March 13) to Harvey! Special mention ka sa entry na 'to. :>

My summer cash has been bothering me. I don't have enough to last me close to three more months. =)) I wish I could stop spending and save up, but things to spend on just keep coming along. Argh. Hahaha!

That's it for now! I'm done here.
Mr. Robby's back, with a inner burning (Ow, ow, ow. =)) I think I stated that wrongly. :)) ) for writing!

.MrRobby.
Thank you, Mr. Hot Sun Above for causing people to run inside for shelter from you. =))))



Thursday, February 19, 2009

My Stand Regarding the RHBill.

I won't lie to you, I haven't read the ENTIRE bill.
But I can say that I have read more of it than many ever have.
I hate to say it, but some churches have tried to brainwash people with false facts about it (specifically in a prayer that I heard in more than just one mass, in different churches).

I never took a stand until skimmed through it.
It looked almost perfectly good to me then, and I was fully supporting it.
Then we had a Bio session which used facts from the original bill.
I saw things that I missed out on in my first read and run through, but this wasn't enough to throw off my support on it.
True, Section 21, number 2 is something I fully agree with up to now. But I guess it does make sense, even if it's a bit extreme.

Read it for yourself if you want. :))
http://jlp-law.com/blog/full-text-of-house-bill-no-5043-reproductive-health-and-population-development-act-of-2008/

Here's what I typed for my Bio reflection, which asked for our stand on the bill.
I took this to heart, and really believe in what I typed here. This stand doesn't coincide with our teacher's so hindi naman talaga pwede sumipsip, diba? Hahaha.

It's kind of long, so I understand if no one reads this. Not a lot of people care about current events nowadays eh. Hahaha.

-----

My stand on the Reproductive Health Bill is still one of support. To me, it remains to be a bill that wishes to uphold a healthy and happy life for all the humans which are yet to be born, and those who already are.

The main concern of many about the bill is that it legalizes abortion, which is not true. Sure, you may say that one can infer from the bill that family planning may include abortion methods but nowhere in the bill does it say that abortion will become legal. This means that the existing law that illegalizes abortion will stand, and the bill will do nothing to change that standing law. Technically, abortion will still be illegal and remain out of the mentioned family planning in the bill. Also, the mentioned family planning in the bill is not compulsory, as it still allows married couples to opt out of it and just choose to naturally plan their lives. This means that the government will merely offer the family planning service, and not require citizens to follow these plans. Natural family planning is still allowed. Secondly, most parts of the bill call for voluntary actions, only a few are actually compulsory. One of the more significant outright prohibitions which disallows a health care provider to refuse performing voluntary ligation or vasectomy on the ground of lack of spousal consent or authorization. I agree that this is one of the more extreme steps that the bill wishes to take in order to control births (which I don’t completely agree with), but I would take this precaution over the chance of an accidental, unplanned birth which will force them to resort to an illegal, back-alley abortion, abandon the baby, or use other methods of helping sustain a child under rough circumstances such as child labor and abuse. Another controversial thing about it is its encouragement of the use of contraceptives. Some think that contraceptives will be allowed only when the bill is approved, but contraceptives already are legal, and they are relatively easy to obtain from pharmacies nowadays. The bill simply encourages it, which I believe is still better than unwanted births which will lead to the aforementioned paths of a bad future for the child. Another thing is the two child policy, which is also only encouraged and not imposed. Sex education early on will increase the awareness of children about the possible issues of over-population in the Philippines. In fact, the government will have new institutions and services to further assist reproductive health and family care.

With these methods of preventing unplanned births, propagation of information through education and media, and family planning to prevent some unexpected cases wherein the parents might fail to provide for the children, I think the guarantee of a good life will be more present for children since they will have parents who prepared, planned well and ensure financial support for them. Children will have a greater chance of fully living their lives.

The bill taken at word has no real flaws for me. I believe that if this bill is implemented well, and that if it is followed as it is without any loophole exploiting, then it will turn out to benefit lives, especially for children. Is it not that children who are here now, and their parents are also considered as life too? Why don’t we assist these lives by giving them options not to end lives, but informing them of a way so that they don’t run themselves into thinking that children are just burdens? Why don’t we give them the choice to better plan their finances for their families so that they don’t have to grind themselves to the bone to just barely cover up for the entire family’s expenses? Why don’t we give them that financial guidance and family planning help, so that their children who are with them now don’t have to suffer having to work or starve themselves just so they can go to school? I believe that this is a way for us to help those in need, to help the unguided majority set their lives straight again.

I am a Catholic who also supports life, and I think times today have changed for us to not adapt. The earth still has its limited resources, limited space and I believe that this is already a way that God is telling us to show respect for every life, and that we must be responsible with the lives given to us. God gave us brains to think for ourselves, to be able to plan our future and not just recklessly proliferate. I believe that this is a way for each life here on earth to bear fruit. I believe that we shouldn’t allow lives to just wither away because of human irresponsibility. I believe that lives don’t exist to be there, they are given so that each one may enjoy the chance they get here on Earth in the best way that each one can.


.MrRobby.
Go RHB!

Sunday, January 25, 2009

Vow Revival.

After watching Hervacio Tubulan during first year, I vowed to watch all the Sibol plays for the whole time I was in the High School.
I did the exact opposite. I missed every single one until last night. Hahaha.

Why the sudden change?
Simple.

It was required. =))

I was reluctant to go at first, but eh. It would be okay, I told myself. Little did I know that this night would want me to revive my vow. I want to, but I might not. Don't really know right now. Hahaha!

Anyway, it was VERY fun.

Once I arrived, JP was recalling his very nice buzzer beating 3-pointer. I had the assist on that one despite the nail already being stuck in my foot. =)) Hung around before actually deciding to buy a ticket. :P

Then everyone goes in and watches. 30+ minute intro by Sir Pagsi, then Shylock's trial. It was... wordy and annoying. But the Shylock actor was quite good. Throughout the play, I had a feeling I would understand Ang Paglilitis ni Mang Serapio better. And it was a correct feeling! Hahaha.

Another 30 minute or so talk by Sir Pagsi. Then it was THE BEST PLAY EVER. Ang Paglilitis was extremely engaging, fun and has a nice story. I understood and enjoyed this way better than the first half. Gaaah. Awesome play makes me want to watch more. But only if they're going to be as good as that. :))

I really enjoyed that.

After, it's traditional Sibol choiring. 3 familiar songs from them and an extra one.
It's starting to get worn out though. Hahaha.

We get out, and just walked around. I was bored, so I hopped on Josh's back and rode him. Miggy wanted to mount my back while I was riding Josh. We tried to do the triple mount while Josh was on his the phone with his mom. Miggy and I surprise him, and he screams "OH SHI*!" into the phone. He proceeds to apologize to him mom after that. I couldn't stop laughing, along with Eric, Bryan and Miggy. Josh, we're sorry that we made your parents stop loving you that night. =))

We got a bit tired and settled down. I spoke to Niqui in tagalog, and everyone else made a big deal out of it. Hahaha. What's so wrong with me speaking in tagalog, guys? /:)

After that, I showed Myka the book. Penguin of Death is a nice book! The penguin loves you, don't worry. He's not as evil as he sounds. HAHAHA. :))

After that it was just random talking and walking, until the last 4 people left were Migo, Myka, Iso and I. We were walking towards the admin when Migo's car came (and my phone fell. Which apparently happened because of... something. Right, Myka? Haha.) , then we turned around and walked towards Sibol. The dark road was nice. :D

My guess was right, the car in front of Sibol that I first saw was mine. And Myka's was right behind it. Hahaha! But Iso had no way home yet, he had to wait for his mom to pick him up in a cab. There was an awkward moment when we were deciding if we were going to stay with Iso or not, then Myka reminds me that I had to wake up at 5 am the next day. Reason overtakes conscience, and I ride my car and go. I felt bad about leaving Iso behind, he was the only person left when we left. :(

So I get home and finish watching 300 on my PSP before sleeping, and I learned that Myka's pretty accurate when it comes to reading people. :))

.MrRobby.
The nail wound hurt more after this, but I couldn't care less. :))


Impossibly Lively.

At the end of the day, I still don't know how I survived...

NOPE, this isn't an emo post. Hahaha.
After I'm done, YOU TELL ME how I'm still alive, alright? :P

January 23, 4 am.
A click here and there, and I'm done with the Elections Primer lay-out.
I send it to people and then fall asleep.

Around one hour and thirty minutes later, I wake up.
Then stand up.
Then take a bath.
Then go to school.

Total sleep time: LESS than 2 hours.

I get there, we have a CLE Long Test I didn't study for in our first period.
That caused some permanent brain damage, I think. :))

2nd period, we have PE.
I play basketball for our team for 2 whole halfs. (Or a whole game, if you want to put it that way. 2 halfs from 2 different matches kasi yun. Hahaha!)
Also, something happens. Bad landing and my foot starts to hurt.

We get back to the classroom to find it locked. Jovin, the keeper of the keys, is out in a Math competition.
25 minutes later, the Janitor opens our door, some student council candidates assault our room and we try to put on our normal uniforms while trying to keep our hungers satisfied. Failure happens, all I get to eat is a crinkle. It was a good one, but I was still hungry. :P

English, then Bio, then Math. There's still pain in my foot so I go to check it out.
I find a dark brown splotch on my sock and find out that my foot was bleeding all that time. Oh joooy! =))
Checked my rubber shoes, and yep, found a nail. A rusty one at that. :D

Hop, hop, hop.
Down 2 floors, to the Satellite infirmary which was closed, then to the main infirmary.
That's about 300 meters on one-foot hops. :))
Well, not quite. Around 2/3rd of the way there, Mr. Dator spots me and assists me to the infirmary along with one of the cafeteria staff he called in. My view of Mr. Dator changed completely. Hahaha. He's a good guy with a love for the rules. That's it.
It was still freaking tiring.

Once I got to the infirmary, they patch up my wound and tell me to tell my parents of the event.
It was my choice if I wanted to get an anti-tetanus shot or no. I told my parents, of course, but I didn't want to get a shot. So, nay. =))

I get back to Math and panic with Matthew to solve the pairwork problem of the week. It was hard!

After that, I finally get to eat in my car as we were on our way to teach 5 year olds again.
Thank God this time Ma'am Cynthia was around to help us. It was so much easier with her around.
It still was tiring though.

Now, where'd I get all that energy? I don't know. :))
But once I got home, I collapsed. I just fell down on the bed and DIED. HAHAHA!

.MrRobby.
I living off the energy that everyone's emitting! :>




Saturday, January 17, 2009

626

Yesterday, I found out that teaching Prep students is way more tiring than a session in the gym.
It's amazing how those kids made me sleep from 6pm to 6am.

So let's skip the more boring parts of the day (like getting chased down, interrogated and smashed into a basketball court's pole) for the story of our first service at the KBF Escopa 3 Day Care Center.

Roughly 30 students were assigned to us, and that day we were supposed to teach Road signs. Josh, Matthew, Russ and I were pretty psyched up since we had a lesson plan that was prepared already and we knew we just had to follow it.

Then things happen.

When we get to the center, our teacher faces us up with the news that she wasn't going to stay with us. She said she had to go to one of the other centers to assist our classmates there who had no teacher with them. We were left to teach the kids by ourselves, and we thought "Yay, we get more freedom to teach." We missed the fact that this meant more freedom for the kids too.

So I have 5 tips for anyone who has to do the same thing as we did. :))

1. Never bring toys to a class of kids this young. It's a fact that they love the inanimate objects more than they love you.

So our ice breaker activity involved each of us pointing at a chosen kid with a toy to have him or her tell his or her name to us. This part got hard even before it started because all the boys would grab on to your hand and start screaming, "KUYA, AKIN NA LANG!" Try carrying 5 boys around with one arm. Wahahaha.

2. When separating two boys in a fight, make sure they're far enough from each other. They have ranged attacks too.

So boy A pushes boy B off his chair, and boy B retaliates by punching back. I get in the middle of their fight and pull boy B away from boy A. Boy A decides to spit at boy B, who had my arm around him. Result: My arm was covered in saliva after a few shots by Boy A. Ten seconds later, boy A and B's tempers have cooled off and my arm felt violated.

3. Carry a picture of a girl in your wallet, just to prove that you're straight to a kid who won't listen to you.

Obviously, a tip for guys. One kid was calling Russ gay, and couldn't be convinced otherwise. She wants a girl's pic in your wallet as proof, and nothing else will even count as valid to her. Hahaha!

4. Use your height to your advantage. It's one of the only things you can beat the kids with.

Store the things which they shouldn't be getting in high places. There's a downside to this though. They'll start grabbing onto you and begging you to lift them up so you can get the items for them. Good luck resisting, I have no tips for that. HAHAHA!

5. Your only way to be heard is to scream.

Screaming is tiring. 2 hours of screaming is more physically draining than it seems. =))

So that's it. Hahaha. It was still a very enjoyable activity, and I can't wait for next Friday. Okay, maybe I can.

.MrRobby.
Kids are tiring. But I absolutely love them.

Friday, January 16, 2009

Nothing.

I'm not going to promise anything anymore to this blog, since I really haven't been feeling like updating. And I guess nobody would care anyway. Hahaha!

So there, I decided to update my blog about what happened today.

We left late for school again, so I had to walk from Gate 3. Yaaay. Haha.
Then I get to the classroom 20 minutes later to find out that I forgot about the Bio lab report. I felt bad to be seen doing it right in front of our Science teacher. Mrs. Abito is really kind, and you'd just feel bad everytime you abuse her leniency.


Classes go on, and we finished the movie in Media which was about advertisements.
It's old, but quite amusing. Honest ads are funny. =))

More more more happens.
AP, we had a Long Test I didn't study for. Also, I made a mistake in understanding one of the questions in the Essay and wasted time writing something that wasn't even supposed to be there. Wahahaha. It wasn't so hard. But I'm not getting high, and I think that's just right.

During Filipino, I thought I had last 2 copies of the same book within a week.
Good thing Jay realized that he had the copy I was using.

In Math, we learned about FCP, Factorials and Permutations. Mr. Dizon explained that Scientific calculators have the function for Permutations. When I found where it was and pressed it, I blurted out, "Oh! It's the thing I used to spell Poop with last year!" P00P. Hahaha!

We had English where a lot of people laughed at Gab for following directions incorrectly. This includes Paulo, who later on finds out that he was also doing what Gab did, but only realized when everyone was checking. Yan ang napapala ng mga nakikitawa. =))

During SSP, we tried inventing new games to play with a chess set. There were creative ideas, but they all failed for the most part. Yeah, we'll learn to stick to normal chess next time.

Yesterday, I got 4 hours of sleep in the car. One moment, I'm in school and next thing I know, I wake up in our car which was then right outside our house. Today though, I only got 1 hour and 30 minutes. Boooo. Hahaha.

I got home, and tried Skype out. It was really fun to talk to 4 classmates at the same time with a Voice over Internet client. It's clear and nice. Everyone should try it out, seriously. Hahaha. It has so much potential and uses. Plus, Skype has a lot of games and plug-ins. Fuuuuun.

That's all. I'm alone now, and have nothing to do.
I'm quite satisfied with this blog post. :)

.MrRobby.
Finally, a proper post! :D

Friday, January 2, 2009

Near Miss.

I said I would post for the 1st of the year, but I guess I missed it. Oh well.

My recent posts are such wastes.
I have to get my blogging back on track.
Arrh.

Forgive me, self. I've been lying to you. :|

.MrRobby.
Come on, come on, come on.